This movie is epic in every way, length, visual and story. It’s based on a sixteenth century love story between a Rajput princess and a Mughal emperor. The singing style in this movie is not your typical Bollywood style. The Sufi style “Khwaja Mere Khwaja”, is my favorite part of this movie.

This music held me for days and all I could do was listen to it over and over and never get sick of it. Even a year later, every time I hear it, it still holds me like the very first time I heard this amazing piece. The meaning of the song made this song made it all the more beautiful and moving for me. Unfortunately, I can’t seem to find an English translation of the lyrics anywhere at the moment.

Sufi poetry is one of the most beautiful love poetry ever written. It is devotional, moving and absolute in the love. The love mentioned in Sufi poetry is not a love between a man and a woman, a man and a man, or a woman and a woman. It is the love between man and his god. I once read somewhere, that in Sufism, the devotion and love is a quiet love between man and god. The first time I read a Sufi poetry it was by the very famous Rumi. I found that his humor in his poems gave it more depth and real for me.

This is one of his poem.

You’ve no idea how hard I’ve looked for a gift to bring You.
Nothing seemed right.

What’s the point of bringing gold to the gold mine, or water to the Ocean.
Everything I came up with was like taking spices to the Orient.

It’s no good giving my heart and my soul because you already have these.

So- I’ve brought you a mirror.

Look at yourself and remember me.

