When I saw Christian Faur’s work on Design Patois, it blew me away. At first, I didn’t know what I was really looking at, then when I saw the close up…. I fell in love. His use of materials such as encaustic and crayons! gives his work more depth. And I’ve always had a soft spot for encaustic works. So there you go.

His series called Just Paper creates an image out of texture from paper and words. He creates “color” by varying the degrees of kerning. The close up picture of this “painting” reminded me of the hot pink strips of paper at the Perfume Temple in Vietnam. The banner image of this blog is a close up of that.

His encaustic works incorporates two of my favorite things, type and beeswax. How can I not love this series?

His other work called Crayon Series, he uses hand cast crayons to create an image.

